Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Colisée de Québec

 
The Quebec Aces played at the Quebec Colisee
Les As jouèrent au Colisée de Québec


History of the Colisée

The original Québec Colisée was erected in 1930.  The hockey rink was installed 12 years later in 1942.

On the night of March 15, 1949, a fire broke out destroying the Colisée and causing at least one million dollars worth of damage.  Afterwards, the City of Québec decided to build a new 10,000-seat arena.

The new arena took six months to build, from May 24 to December 8, 1949, when the first game was played between the Québec Aces and the Québec Citadelles.  At this time, the seating had not even been installed but this situation was rectified a few weeks later.

 April 26, 1951 was a memorable day in the Colisée's history.  A record crowd of 16,806 fans jammed into the Colisée to watch the Memorial Cup Final between the Québec Citadelles and the Barrie Flyers.  This record attendance has not been broken yet.

The Québec Colisée became the official home of the Québec Nordiques in October 1972, replacing the former home team Québec Aces of the American Hockey League.  When the Nordiques joined the National Hockey League in March 1979, the City decided to increase the seating capacity by 5,000 seats.

A crowd of 15,250 spectators opened the newly renovated Colisée on January 28, 1981, in the middle of the Nordiques second season in the NHL.  The City of Québec finally had an arena suited to the requirements of professional hockey.  The Québec Nordiques played there until the moving of the team to Denver, Colorado, in 1995.

The Québec Colisée, renamed Colisée Pepsi since November of 1999, is owned by the City of Québec and is primarly concerned with the presentation of the Québec Citadelles (American Hockey League) and the Québec Remparts (Québec Major Junior Hockey League) hockey games.  The Colisée Pepsi also host a variety of cultural activities including world-famous musical groups, solists and a wide range of variety shows.



Historique

1930: Construction du premier Colisée.

1942: Aménagement de la patinoire

15 Mars 1949: Un feu détruit le Colisée. Les pertes sont évaluées à 1 million de dollars.

Automne 1949: Constrution du nouveau Colisée de 10 000 sièges.

8 décembre 1949: Première partie, opposant les As de Québec aux Citadelles de Québec (avec aucun siège installé!).

26 avril 1951: Foule record inégalée à ce jour de 16806 spectateurs (Aujourd'hui, la capacité et la loi ne le permettent pas). Le match opposait les Flyers de Barrie aux Citadelles de Québec, dans un match de la Finale de l'Est de la Coupe Memorial.

Octobre 1972: Le Colisée devient la demeure des Nordiques de Québec

Mars 1979: Projet d'agrandissement de 5000 sièges du Colisée pour satisfaire aux exigences de la LNH.

28 janvier 1981: Inauguration du nouveau Colisée

18 novembre 1999: Vente du nom Colisée à Pepsi au montant de 150 000$ pour 10 ans. Le batiment sera connu sous le nom de Colisée Pepsi.

Au cours de son histoire, le Colisée a été la demeure de plusieurs formations : Les As de Québec, les Nordiques de Québec, les Rafales de Québec, les Citadelles de Québec, les Frontenacs de Québec et les Remparts de Québec au hockey et les Caribous de Québec dans la National Lacrosse League. Il a aussi été la demeure secondaire des Harfangs de Beauport, arena de dépannage des Flyers de Philadelphie et a reçu un match hors concours des Roadrunners de Montreal de la RHI, en plus de plusieurs spectacles..